Spring Favorites

With the summer season close to officially starting (my calendar tells me June 21), I wanted to dedicate a little post to the products I’ve been loving all spring.

The first item is a fragrance, and it’s a new addition to my perfume collection.

Simple bottle design, although I took off the plastic pearl attachment that came with it

Simple bottle design, although I took off the plastic pearl attachment that came with it

Note the psychedelic, 60s vibe design...can you dig it?

Note the psychedelic, ’60s vibe design…can you dig it?

Taylor by Taylor Swift is a sweet, floral fragrance with a woodsy base. It opens with fruity notes of lychee and tangerine accompanied by magnolia petals, peony and a hint of vanilla. It has my favorite notes at the base, with sandalwood, apricot nectar and cashmere musk becoming noticeable as it dries down on the skin.

To me, this is such a fun, flirty floral perfume that just screams spring. What’s more is that I immediately went out and bought this after I received a sample of it in an Ulta order I made in March.

So, after three months of wearing this perfume, it is indeed a new favorite of mine. And while the packaging might seem a bit boring, I think it’s worth checking out if you’re looking for a chic new spring/summer fragrance.

Next up I’ve got a skincare miracle worker.

korres-wild-rose-vitamin-c-advanced-brightening-sleeping-facial

A holy grail contender...

A holy grail contender…

This is the Wild Rose + Vitamin C Advanced Brightening Sleeping Facial by Korres.

I’ve not tried much else from this brand before, but I’m a big fan of skin brightening products and I’m glad I took a chance with this overnight facial-in-a-jar. And who doesn’t want glowing, hydrated skin all year ‘round anyway?

While I haven’t had extreme acne problems in my life, I did have some slight discoloration from a couple of acne marks leftover from my teenage years (thanks puberty!). The reason why I say this is a miracle product is because I actually saw my skin brighten, leaving no trace of said acne marks or discoloration. I used this for an entire two weeks straight, as recommended, and followed my basic skincare routine without any deviation.

The Wild Rose Oil is certainly noticeable in this cream, and I absolutely loved how the soothing scent of roses complemented the cool, soothing feel of this on my skin.

I also found it to be very lightweight and moisturizing. Alongside the rose oil and vitamin C, the ingredient list includes rose water, Imperata Cylindrica Root Extract, rosemary leaf extract, aloe leaf and jojoba seed oil. The only issue I found with this cream is that you get 1.35 oz of product for a nearly $50 price tag. Besides that, I’m 100% in love with this cream and it makes me curious to try more Korres products in the future.

Sticking with the brightening theme, I’ve been loving the Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer by L’Oreal.

The warmer months in Florida generally equate to unreasonable humidity spikes and makeup-melting sunrays. So I’ve been mixing this primer in with the Dream Fresh BB cream from Maybelline for a lightweight, foundation alternative.

The primer comes out stark white color, and has a creamy blendable texture...

The primer comes out stark white color, and has a creamy blendable texture…

Once blended, the primer leaves an illuminating, dewy glow to the skin

Once blended, the primer leaves an illuminating, dewy glow to the skin

I found that it helps to brighten my skin without creating any unnatural white sheen, and it doesn’t leave my skin flaky or dry as some other primers I’ve tried. It also blends in seamlessly, leaving my skin looking natural and healthy. I’d recommend this if you’re looking for a moisturizing primer that leaves a natural, dewy finish on the skin.

Lastly, I’ve been gravitating toward soft, peachy lip colors this spring, especially those with a subtle shimmer that reflects in the sunlight. This lipstick is from the Devine Goddess line by Napoleon Perdis, and has quickly become an everyday staple.

Devine Goddess lipstick in the color Hess

Devine Goddess lipstick in the color Hess

The color swatched at the bottom of the tube is also a pretty accurate representation

The color swatched at the bottom of the tube is also a pretty accurate representation

I found that this lipstick isn’t as creamy as most M.A.C. lipsticks (for reference), but it does have a pretty smooth texture once applied on the lips. I guess you could say it emulsifies once applied on the lips in two or three swipes. It also has a slight, sweet fragrance similar to strawberry shortcake. I was found this shade at my local Target, and it’s one of those pretty, peachy pink colors that I can’t ever resist. I also don’t own any other Napoleon Perdis products, so this is actually a nice first impression of the brand.

Up close swatch with flash photography...do you like?

Up close swatch with flash photography…do you like?

There are golden shimmers running through this lip color, but it’s very subtle and practically unnoticeable when actually applied on the lips. I especially love adding a creamy gloss, like the NYX butter gloss in Crème Brûlée, for a perfect pinky nude lip combo. I also think this is more long-lasting than lipsticks with creamier consistencies, and it does’t feather or bleed at all.

 

That’s all for now…I hope you enjoyed =)

& Comment down below if you have any favorite spring and summer essentials of your own!

 

~TVLYBeauty

 

Leave a Reply

